Members, organs and structures of Kindernothilfe

Organigram of Kindernothilfe

As of 31 December 2018, Kindernothilfe employed 166 staff, the equivalent of 142 full-time positions with the following areas of responsibility: project work, 44 positions; education, information and advocacy work, 19 positions; advertising, donor service and Kindernothilfe-foundation, 35 positions and administration (incl. Executive Board and trainees), 44 positions.

The governing bodies of the non-profit organisation Kindernothilfe e.V. are the Annual General Assembly, Board of Trustees and Executive Board.

Annual General Assembly

The Annual General Assembly convenes once a year. Its responsibilities include receiving the reports of the Executive Board and the Board of Trustees, approving the activities of both bodies, reviewing the annual financial statement and electing the Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees appoints the Executive Board and can dismiss it, monitors the work of the Executive Board, and appoints committees to advise the Board of Trustees and the Executive Board.


Christel Riemann-Hanewinckel, pastor, former Parliamentary Secretary and former Member of Parliament, Chairperson of the Board of Trustees, Halle/Saale

Dr. Irmela Müller-Stöver, Doctor of General Medicine, Tropical Medicine and Infectiology, KNH’s 1st Deputy Chairperson, Solingen

Michael Schramm, member of the Executive Board of the western region of the Commerzbank AG, 2nd Deputy Chairperson, Cologne

Dr. Hans-Tjabert Conring, Church Councillor of the Evangelical Church in Westphalia, Bielefeld

Prof. Dr. Irene Dittrich, professor Düsseldorf University

Dr. Kurt A. Holz, journalist, Monheim

Dietrich Köhler-Miggel, pastor, Duisburg

Horst Krapohl, consultant (retired), Berlin (appointed member)

Anika May, consultant Civil Peace Service, Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Entwicklungshilfe e.V. (AGEH), Cologne

Jörg Moltrecht, Board member of the “Bank für Kirche und Diakonie eG” – KD-Bank, Dortmund

Kai Rose, managing partner of the Klambt-Verlag (publishing group), Speyer

Christiane Schulte, coordinator for Evaluation at Protestant Centre for Development and Social Service, Berlin

Dr. Bärbel Schwitzgebel, Deputy Director of the Rhein-Main University and State Library, Wiesbaden

Dr. Jürgen Weerth, former German Embassador in Sri Lanka (retired), Kaarst


Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for managing the association’s operations.


Katrin Weidemann, Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Carsten Montag, Chief Programme Officer (CPO)

Jürgen Borchardt, Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

How we work

How we work

Learn more about how we realize children’s rights.

Learn more
An overview of our projects and countries

An overview of our projects and countries

We are currently supporting more than 2.1 million children in 32 countries. Click here to read selected project descriptions.

Learn more
Transparency is a top priority for us

Transparency is a top priority for us

An internal and external monitoring system ensures the proper use of all donations and verifies the impact of our work. We give account of our work with a detailed reporting system.

Learn more